 |
|
Topic started on 15-3-2004 @ 12:44 PM by godservant
|
What is with the 'escape now' popup that I receive from the main page of this site every so often? Just curious.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 12:45 PM by SimonGray
|
There is no pop-up advertising on the main site homepage.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 12:46 PM by Pisky
|
Originally posted by SimonGray
There is no pop-up advertising on the main site homepage. 
You could have spyware that activates every now and then. I have heard of some that can appear no matter what site you are on.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 12:49 PM by godservant
|
Only with abovetopsecret.com, the main page, I get a popup that simply states "Escape Now!", it doesn't link to anywhere and then goes away after 2
seconds. Odd.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 12:58 PM by SimonGray
|
I have been assured that none of the advertisements through the banners on the main site incorporate spyware of any kind.
Also, there is no code on the index page that launches pop-ups, so the source of these must be elsewhere.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 01:01 PM by Spectre
|
My wife's computer was kicking up pop-ups on a couple of pages that I knew wouldn't have anything like that in their content. Turns out she had
picked up some ad-ware from who knows where, and she is a pretty careful surfer. It never hurts to check with something like Spybot or AdAware. There
is even a little java based scan (not very thorough) at this website:
www.doxdesk.com...
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 01:01 PM by SpittinCobra
|
Originally posted by SimonGray
I have been assured that none of the advertisements through the banners on the main site incorporate spyware of any kind.
Also, there is no code on the index page that launches pop-ups, so the source of these must be elsewhere. 
Maybe like his computer.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 01:06 PM by ImAlreadyPsycho
|
What you are seeing I believe is a popup for one of the following
Orbitz, Travelocity, or one of those damn travel sites. Anyways, it is spyware, and you should run SPYBOT Seek and Destroy (freeware, found through
google). This will remove it. I was getting it too, and ran spybot and it is now gone. I too only got that particular one on the main page of abovetop
secret. It appears to look in the history of your system and come up on the top five frequented sites you visit.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 02:19 PM by godservant
|
That is good news - a travel agency popup. When you visit a conspiracy forum and you see "Escape Now!", it can some predictably strange
disappearances of members. Thanks all - I will now throw away my escape plan.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 02:24 PM by DontTreadOnMe
|
There are utilites and tools that can get rid of those pesky pop-ups. Netscape and Opera have built-in blockers. Win XP is supposed to have a fix
this summer that will include a blocker.
Go to PCWorld.com or a similar site. These reputable sites offer downloads to block those ads.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 02:45 PM by m0rbid
|
...just thought I'd jump in to inform those who don't know yet that google-toolbar does a damn good job a blocking pop-ups.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 02:52 PM by smirkley
|
The google toolbar is awsome!! And does searches too !
But I know of that pop-up on the main page, and it wasnt spyware on my pc.
[Edited on 15-3-2004 by smirkley]
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 03:12 PM by smirkley
|
Escape now...CheapTickets on the site home page, is not a popup.
Instead it is an embedded image that expands on a mouseover, of the rotating banner ad at the top of the page.
Seems like the advertisers have found a way to get 'more' in your face.
This only happens when the CHEAPTICKETS banner rotates unto the front page.
[Edited on 15-3-2004 by smirkley]
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 03:34 PM by Ranger
|
I use Mozilla Firefox so no popups and it has a built in google search field. For spyware removal I would recomend add-aware.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 03:39 PM by smirkley
|
This isnt a popup, turn your blockers on,
goto the main home page of ATS,
refresh the page until the CHEAPTICKETS banner shows up in the top right.
Then mouseover it and view the 'not-pop-up's'.
Kinda neat trick getting a 468 x 60 banner ad
to expand to 7 times it's size, and not be blocked by blockers.
[Edited on 15-3-2004 by smirkley]
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 04:07 PM by titian
|
Originally posted by m0rbid
...just thought I'd jump in to inform those who don't know yet that google-toolbar does a damn good job a blocking pop-ups. 
Unless it's been scaled back the google toolbar is spyware.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 04:12 PM by smirkley
|
googlebar is spyware, but that action can easily be turned off in the options.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 04:28 PM by Colonel
|
I thought it was an emergency warning to leave my job now. So, I did.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-3-2004 @ 04:48 PM by smirkley
|
*and they wonder how the Republicans were able to access the Democrat's computer systems*
Repugnants hacked & monitored Dems computer for a year
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |